And you think your problem is the worst!

Lizzy has never been the type that gets noticed when she walks into a room. She’s what my friend Kathy calls round and amoebic. I disagreed with her strongly but I didn’t want her to think I was against her so I shut up. I would have really loved to stand up for her. Lizzy is always saying the wrong things at the wrong time and making faux pas in social gatherings.

But the most beautiful thing about Lizzy is that she genuinely likes to help people.  ‘Would you like me to help you with this? Would you like me to give you some of mine? Would you like me to assist you with that?’ Those are what you’ll often hear Lizzy say when you’re in need. She’s just a sweet soul. I’ve never heard her say a mean word to anyone. It doesn’t matter how many times people laugh at her, she always laughs right back.

It didn’t stop people from being mean to her. She constantly failed at school, she is sick all the time, she’s unemployed. Worst of all, she has a medical condition that has brought her life to a stand still. She has cancer.

Still Lizzy has never stopped being a sweet soul.

You think your problem is the worst and that is why you’re walking as if the whole world is on your shoulder. Try being in Lizzy’s shoes.

A good character is the best tombstone.  Those who loved you and were helped by you will remember you when forget-me-nots have withered.  Carve your name on hearts, not on marble.  ~Charles H. Spurgeon

 

Please drop a comment. Tell me what you think.

