I’ll change…starting tomorrow!!!

You won’t believe how many times I’ve tried to write this article. Each time it was as if there was some invisible force propelling me to drop my pen and do something a lot easier like say, watch a movie or play around with my phone or just simply lie down on my bed and stare into thin air.

Thinking about it now, after mustering some energy to pull myself away from the grip of this cobweb around my head and will power, the invisible force is none other than my age-long friend, procrastination. I’m sure he’s as much your friend as he’s mine. He is friends with so many people that I’m sure he’s even lost count. The thing is he always makes his options look so simple yet he is the reason I’ve lost out on and missed so many important things in my life. Still I’ve not been able to tell him off. People have often referred to it as laziness. Though they bear very close resemblance, they both differ in approach. Laziness tells you, you are too tired to do what you want to do, Procrastination on the other hand tells you that there is no hurry cos you can always do it later. Procrastination makes you do things at the last minute, wishing the clock could suddenly develop extra hours.
It is something that develops over time. It easily becomes a part of you, a habit you would rather not stop. A little sleep a little slumber, a little folding of the hands and poverty will come upon you (Prov 24:33-34).
I’m sure someone is thinking right now that there’s no harm in delaying right? Maybe when it costs you the loss of something invaluable like me, you’ll understand what propelled me to finally write this. For 3 months now I had been postponing the task of backing up my flash drive in which I store very important documents. I had seen the signals, indicating that it was on the verge of a breakdown, often enough. Of course I said to myself, I’ll do it later. Today, it packed up. You can’t imagine how painful it was for me to lose all those documents. I don’t need to look for who to blame.
Everyone procrastinates. We put things off because we don’t want to do them, or because we have too many other things on our plates. If you think you are a hopeless procrastinator, take heart! No one is beyond help. The fact that you procrastinate does not mean that you are inherently lazy or inefficient.
Why do we procrastinate?
There are so many reasons for putting off performance of tasks, some are;
  • because we are afraid of failing or afraid of becoming successful at that thing
  • plain laziness
  • lack of motivation
  • fear of encountering difficulty
  • because we enjoy doing something easier (tv, facebook, bbm, etc)
I took some time to find out what to do to prevent a future ‘had I known’. If you made friends with procrastination in the past them maybe you could pick up some ideas that could help.
learn to set deadlines for yourself: I know how difficult it is to keep to deadlines but that is where you need the reward or punishment system. When you meet a deadline, give yourself a treat but if you don’t prepare a punishment for yourself
Start with easier tasks first: Sometimes we procrastinate because we encounter obstacles in the course of our work. Mentally, you just want to log off and do something easier. That’s ok as long as you don’t dwell on the easier job and fail to complete your task.
Log out of your facebook!: You can’t tell how much facebooking, blogging and visiting social networks is keeping you from facing your tasks.
Get disciplined: Learn to control your self and your actions to get to your desired outcomes.
Just start your tasks ok!
Hope I take my own advice too cos I already lost my valuable stuff to P.
femmetotale!
dare to be a difference….
5 thoughts on “I’ll change…starting tomorrow!!!

  1. femmetotale says:

    Reblogged this on femmetotale and commented:

    I just saw this old post I made about procrastination and I’m wondering when I’ll take my own advice. I still have many things piled up in my to-do list. In fact I’ve made up my mind to change…starting tomorrow..lol. Enjoy it.

  2. Anweting Kevin says:

    the write up is indeed rich, thought provoking and would serve as a guide to many who have made procrastination their role thereby avoiding important things that ought to be done. With this wonderful writeup, procrastination which in recent times has become a cancerworm in our effort to progress would become oblivious. Keep it up!

Please drop a comment. Tell me what you think.

