More, more, more and more again

shopping  girl

There are three things that are never satisfied, no four…

It was that time of the year again, you know, that time for thorough house clean-up. The night before, I had eaten a double helping in preparation for the hard work I was going to engage in the next morning. My work tools were all lined up and my music player was blaring Sinach’s album (sorry neighbours…I know it may have been a tad too loud but…you know now*sheepish grin*). So anyway, I did a thorough sweeping of the rooms, lifting everything I could lift and then I got to the mopping part.

Afterwards, I started arranging things in my rooms. I took time to clean out my wardrobe and fold only the things I felt were still useful to me. One after the other, I flung out old clothes, shoes, bags, empty cosmetic containers, empty perfume bottles (please don’t ask me why I keep empty perfume bottles) and other stuff that I couldn’t remember what they were for, anyway.

I took time to look at some of the dresses I was discarding. That was when it struck me. There was the bright yellow dress I loved so much. I could remember seeing it on a mannequin outside a boutique I used to pass on my way home. I had immediately gone into the boutique and tried it on, to discover that it was a perfect fit. I could remember how many sleepless nights I had when I saw the price tag and knew that I couldn’t afford it. I can still hear myself praying to God earnestly, that no one else should buy it until I finally put the money together. Then there was the lovely black sequined cropped jacket amongst the heap of clothes I wanted to discard. I could remember almost fighting with my sister when I discovered that she also had an interest in it. We had gone shopping together and frankly, I can’t remember who saw it first. On and on the list goes. Was it the cute stiletto heeled shoes that it’s heel had come off shortly after I bought it or the red tote bag I had loved so much? Some of them were either no longer in vogue or spoiled or too old for use.

I heaved a sigh as I sat staring at my (once) lovely things. I could remember how much I had longed for some of them before they became mine, like the yellow dress and all I could think about was, ‘more more more and more’…lol. I started to feel like the leech in the book of Proverbs. Prov 30: 15-16.

munch_2013_04_30_193909

You need to read it for yourself and laugh along with me. I wish I wouldn’t get so worked up about the things I want and just be content with what I have. Contentment seems to be something that constantly eludes we humans. The more we acquire, the more our needs increase. I can remember thinking that if I could earn more money then perhaps I’ll be able to meet all my needs….lol is it possible? When my earnings increased, my needs or should I say wants also increased. I finally came up with a solution. Since I’m not going to be able to stop wanting more, maybe I could try to give others too. So every time I over-shop I try to give out part of my earnings too. that way I ensure that I am not over indulging my selfish desires. I wish I could turn a blind eye to some of the beautiful things that beckon to me from shop displays as I walk on by. Maybe one day I will but until then… I can’t wait to do my next shopping **winks*.

Cheers

Femmetotale

One thought on “More, more, more and more again

  1. lessonsbyheart says:

    Loved this (but couldn’t find the “Love It” button).

    I struggled with this for years. After my mom moved to heaven, though, I started really thinking about the place – in fact, the Lord and I began to “decorate.” Whenever there was something I thought I *had* to have at the store, I would consider the cost, imagine what it would look like at the local landfill in a few years, then say, “Lord, how ’bout You put this in my home there…and we’ll use the money I would have spent to further Your Kingdom instead?” That helps me to remember what’s important, and keeps “stuff” in perspective. 🙂
    \o/

Please drop a comment. Tell me what you think.

